After 117 years of rich history, FBC Olive Hill is expanding again. On June 26, the Trustees officially signed papers to purchase the former Oney-Henderson Funeral Home. It was decided the church would call it the FBC Ministry Center.
First Baptist Church of Olive Hill was established in 1902. In 1941, the ground was broken for our current church building at 365 East Tom T. Hall Blvd. A dedication service for the unfinished building was held on May 10, 1942.
Later, it was decided that FBC Olive Hill needed to expand for more educational and ministry space. Two additional lots were purchased and the education wing of the church was built. The building dedication service for the education wing was held on June 24, 1966.
Furthermore, in 1998 an adjacent lot behind the church was purchased in order to expand the sanctuary and parking. A commitment service was held on August 30, 1998, and the renovation was finished in May 2002.
To celebrate the purchase of the Ministry Center, FBC is hosting a Dedication Service this Sunday, August 11, at 11 a.m. The Olive Hill Chamber of Commerce is hosting a ribbon-cutting ceremony at the FBC Ministry Center following the service with a dinner to follow in the Fellowship Hall.
The First Baptist family would like to invite the community to attend the dedication.